can i tell you the truth?

August 11, 2009

i HATE field hockey. hate it. i love the sport, but i despise playing it at a higher level. i dislike most of the people who play, and competition freaks me out.

and i really hate not being the best.

and i hate practices and all of the sprinting that we have to do, because not only does it bulk up thighs, but it’s damn painful.

but…

i LOVE the things it does to my upper-body (six-pack much?) and arms. and i adore the uniform and i enjoy being part of something. it’s like a sorority.

AND i love how it will allow me to see my love a bit more. that’s always nice.

but…

it takes up SO MUCH FRICKING TIME! time that i should be using to complete my school work and study and EMT… because that’s the kind of stuff that could potentially get me into an ivy league college. NOT field hockey.

and i can always scorekeep and be pseudo- part of the team.

but…

i LOVE ordering all the clothes with the logo and whatnot– sweatshirts, sweatpants, shirts. it’s the most wonderful day when they finally come.

AND i’m finally a senior. i’m one of the top dogs. i’ve waited years to be in this position.

so i don’t know. i can’t tell if i want to quit because i’m lazy or because i really think it’s for my own good. in fact, i’m not really sure if i even want to quit. maybe that’s just what i want today. and yesterday. and the day before.

ugh! i have no clue! what do you guys think i should do?

10 Responses to “can i tell you the truth?”

  1. pseudonym said

    Stick with it. Ivy League schools actually love sports, even though they “don’t give sports scholarships” (load of BS).

    I didn’t get in because I didn’t have a sport. Participating in one shows that although you devote a lot of time to it, you can handle the other pressures in life like a champ.

    So if your grades aren’t suffering substantially… no worries. In fact, be happy.

    • karnii said

      really? even though i’m not very good?

      • pseudonym said

        They don’t have to know how good you are. That’s the best part of being on a team, right? :p

        How are your grades and test scores? I had an SAT 2090 and a 3.75 GPA at public school, so I was a bit mediocre. My community service was good, but not good enough. I was devoting lots of time to extracurriculars, but again, no sports.

        Which schools are you applying to?

      • karnii said

        i think my grades and scores are good… i have a 4.1 GPA and a 31 on my ACT, but i’m taking it again.

        and probably all of the ivies but upenn. i’m not sure which for early decision, though. maybe dmouth.

      • pseudonym said

        Sorry that last comment was supposed to be a reply to this. I disorganized your comments. Apologies. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • karnii said

        haha… don’t woory AT ALL! ๐Ÿ™‚ you’ve been a huge help… and i f-up my comments that way all the time!

  2. linnxie said

    I also think you’d miss it too much

    I also hate the trainings and when everybody is putting all there heads in the competition. It sometimes gets us out of the game as we start bitching at each other. But besides from that I real love it

    eventhough it takes A LOT OF TIME

    but as long as you can manage with school I don’t think you should stop

    • karnii said

      you’re right. you really are. if i don’t play i WILL miss it… i’ll feel like i’m missing out.

      and if i start to get too overwhelmed with school i can always take a break from it, right? my coach is really nice… and he’s gonna be my math teacher.

      i think i’m gonna suck it up and just do it then. so thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      and thank you pseudonym too!!!

  3. pseudonym said

    Um, you’re good. Did you do the SAT? I’d recommend it. Also, do early action where you can. They take at least 30% of their incoming class from EA. & I hope you logged community service, because that f’d a lot of my friends’ chances at good schools.

    Oh, and I figured out what that pizza was (it was you I was talking to about the pizza, right?). It was Kashi mushroom and spinach. 600 calories if you eat the entire thing. It’s a godsend, but I’m on a liquid fast, so I can’t have any. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • karnii said

      yeah… my SAT was alright. 2100. but i’m taking it again.

      and i’m definitely thinking ED for dmouth.

      and mushroom?!? i f’in LOVE mushroom! and kashi ๐Ÿ™‚ i’m gonna put it on my grocery list

Leave a Reply

